The 2010 IEEE Honors Ceremony

  • Share

This video covers the 2010 IEEE Honors Ceremony. The Honors Ceremony is designed to recognize technical professionals, in a wide variety of disciplines, for thier exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions that have made a lasting impact on technology, society and the engineering profession. Hosted by 2010 IEEE President and CEO Pedro Ray and 2010 IEEE President-elect Moshe Kam, this ceremony includes awards for professionals and students, who have show exceptional dedication and hard work in fields of science and technology, that have changed the world.

2010 IEEE Medal Of Honor Recipient

Sponsored by IEEE Frank A. Cowan Fund and
IEEE Foundation


For seminal contributions to communications technology and theory. 

As developer of the Viterbi Algorithm and co-founder of Qualcomm Incorporated, Andrew J. Viterbi?s contributions to communications technology have impacted people?s lives throughout the world. There is a Viterbi detector in practically every disk drive and high-capacity MP3 player, images transmitted from deep space are made possible by the Viterbi algorithm, and third-generation mobile telephones employ one or more of Dr. Viterbi?s systems. He developed the Viterbi Algorithm in 1967, which was a breakthrough in wireless technology that separated information (voice and data) from background noise. Fundamentally changing how digital communications are processed, the algorithm is used in most digital cellular phones and satellite receivers as well as in such diverse fields as magnetic recording, voice recognition and DNA sequence analysis. Dr. Viterbi co-founded Qualcomm Incorporated, San Diego, Calif., with Irwin Jacobs in 1985. His vision and technical leadership at Qualcomm pioneered the revolutionary Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) system as a more efficient method for digital mobile communications. Utilizing spread-spectrum technology, CDMA allows many users to occupy the same time and frequency allocations. It provides more efficient use of power and bandwidth, enables more calls in the same geographic region and emits a lower level of radiated power in the phone/device. 

An IEEE Life Fellow, Dr. Viterbi holds memberships in the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has received the National Medal of Science in 2008 from U.S. President George W. Bush as well as several IEEE awards and honors from other international organizations. The University of Southern California (USC), Los Angeles, renamed its school of engineering the Viterbi School of Engineering in 2004. Dr. Viterbi is currently president of the Viterbi Group, San Diego, Calif., which invests in startup companies in the wireless communications and network infrastructure sectors, and he also holds the titles of Presidential Chair Visiting Professor at USC and Distinguished Visiting Professor at the Technion, Haifa, Israel.

You can watch the medal of honor video on In addition to the Medal of Honor, there will be three new Awards presented for the first time in 2010 at the ceremony:

IEEE Medal in Power Engineering -  Sponsored by: IEEE Industry Applications, Industrial Electronics, Power Electronics and Power & Energy Societies.
IEEE Medal for Innovations in Healthcare Technology - Sponsored by: IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society.
IEEE Medal for Environmental and Safety Technologies - Sponsored by: Toyota Motor Corporation. 

This video covers the 2010 IEEE Honors Ceremony, in Montreal, Canada, hosted by Pedro Ray, 2010 IEEE President and CEO, and Moshe Kam, 2010 IEEE President-elect.