Virtual Online Event
3 Feb. 2021, 11:30 AM ET (4:30 PM UTC)

Please note that your player may be paused and the audio in mute by default.
Press play and unmute to join the event.

  • Welcome, and Background of IEEE and IEEE Milestones

    • Brian Berg: IEEE Region 6 History Chair; IEEE History Committee member; Consultant, Berg Software Design

    • Dr. K.J. Ray Liu: IEEE President-Elect; Professor, Univ. of Maryland, College Park

  • Government Dignitary Comments

    • The Honorable Jay Inslee: Governor, State of Washington

    • The Honorable Billy Nungesser, Lieutenant Governor, State of Louisiana

    • Dr. Gaetano Manfredi: Italian Minister of University and Research

  • US (LIGO) & European (Virgo) Funding Agency Perspectives

    • The Honorable Dr. Sethuraman Panchanathan: Director, National Science Foundation (NSF)

    • Dr. Antoine Petit: Chairman and CEO, French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS)

    • Dr. Antonio Zoccoli: President, Italian National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN)

    • Miriam Luizink: Director, Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)

  • Nobel Laureates' Conversation

    • Intro: Katherine "Kate" J. Duncan: President, IEEE-USA

    • Conversation Leader: Richard Abbott: Lead Engineer, California Institute of Technology (Caltech)/LIGO

      • Dr. Rainer Weiss: Professor Emeritus, MIT

      • Dr. Barry C. Barish: The Ronald and Maxine Linde Professor of Physics, Emeritus, Caltech; Professor, UC Riverside

      • Dr. Kip S. Thorne: The Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, Emeritus, Caltech

  • Historical and Collaborative Perspectives

    • Dr. Antonio Luque: IEEE Region 8 Director; Professor, Univ. of Seville, SPAIN

    • Dr. Catherine-Nary Man: CNRS Director of Research Emeritus; Virgo Instrumentation Specialist

    • Dr. Jean-Yves Vinet: CNRS Director of Research; Virgo Spokesperson (2011-2014)

    • Dr. Takaaki Kajita: Nobel Laureate; Principal Investigator, KAGRA Detector; President, Science Council of JAPAN

  • Concluding Remarks

    • Dr. Dave Reitze: Executive Director of LIGO Laboratory (Caltech); Professor, Caltech; Professor, Univ. of Florida

    • A "Visit" to each Observatory, and Milestone Plaque Unveilings

      • LIGO in Livingston, Louisiana USA

        • Dr. Joseph Giaime: Head, LIGO Livingston Observatory; Professor, LSU

      • LIGO in Hanford, Washington USA

        • Dr. Michael Landry: Head, LIGO Hanford Observatory

      • Virgo in Cascina (Pisa), Tuscany ITALY

        • Dr. Stavros Katsanevas: Director, European Gravitational Observatory (EGO); Professor, Univ. of Paris, FRANCE

        • Dr. Bernardo Tellini: Chair, IEEE Italy Section; Professor, Univ. of Pisa, ITALY

        • Dr. Giovanni Losurdo: Virgo Spokesperson; former Advanced Virgo Project Leader; Research Director, Italian INFN

Credits and Acknowledgments

Core Program Planning Team

IEEE Officers

  • Region 5

    • Francis Grosz: Region 5 Immediate Past Director

    • Matt Francis: Region 5 East Area Chair

    • Zafar Taqvi: Region 5 History Chair

    • Don Couvillion: Baton Rouge Section Chair

    • Seth Chandler: Baton Rouge Section Treasurer

    • Chan Wong: New Orleans Section Chair

  • Region 6

    • Brian Berg: Region 6 History Chair and Milestone Coordinator; Member, History Committee; Director, IEEE-CNSV

    • Leo Fifield: Richland Section Chair

    • Michael Wood: Richland Section Immediate Past Chair

    • David McKinnon: Richland Section Past Chair
    • Evelyn Hirt: IEEE-USA Past President
  • Region 8

    • Vincenzo Piuri: Region 8 Director-Elect; Full Professor, Università Degli Studi di Milano

    • Bernardo Tellini: Italy Section Chair

    • Tiziana Tambosso: Italy Section Immediate Past Chair

    • Antonio Savini: Italy Section History Committee Coordinator; Emeritus Professor, Università di Pavia

IEEE-USA's Videography and Speaker Recruitment Team

  • Jonathon Choe: Social Media Associate
  • Corey Ruth: Media Relations Associate
  • Aline McNaull: Senior Legislative Representative in Government Relations

Special Thanks


  • Livingston, Louisiana Mayor Jonathan "JT" Taylor: Proclamation